The queen of all giveaways!

You have GOT to check out this 15 BOOK GIVEAWAY that Penguin is offering! All featuring mysteries with kickass heroines–enter now!

Posted in Blog | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on The queen of all giveaways!

Off to Canada!

I’m heading to Bouchercon in Toronto this week–if you’re in the area, don’t miss the panel discussion and signing on Thursday at 1pm! Details on the Appearances page of the site. Also, we’ve still got TWO awesome giveaways with chances to win an ARC of A TREACHEROUS CURSE–one on Goodreads and one on Instagram!

Posted in Blog | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Off to Canada!

We have another giveaway!

While the Instagram giveaway in the previous post is still going on, you can enter ANOTHER giveaway on Goodreads for a chance to win an ARC of A TREACHEROUS CURSE!

Posted in Blog | Tagged , , , , | Comments Off on We have another giveaway!

We’ve got a giveaway!

Want a chance to win an ARC of A TREACHEROUS CURSE? Head over to my Instagram account to enter–I’m giving away three!

Posted in Blog | Tagged , , , , | Comments Off on We’ve got a giveaway!

A CURIOUS BEGINNING is on sale!

Nook and Kindle readers, good news! Barnes & Noble and Amazon have A CURIOUS BEGINNING for only $2.99 right now. Perfect time to grab your digital copy or give one to a pal!

Barnes & Noble Nook

Amazon Kindle

Posted in Blog | Tagged , , , , | Comments Off on A CURIOUS BEGINNING is on sale!

Scribbling and bibbling

Do you remember the scene in AMADEUS where Mozart tells the emperor that he has already written his next piece in his head, it’s just a matter of getting it down on paper? Nothing but scribbling and bibbling left? That’s how I’m feeling about the current Veronica book. Very occasionally I get a book that just comes together in my head, assembling itself so neatly that it seems less like I’m writing and more like I’m taking dictation. (I wish every book were this effortless, but that wouldn’t be very interesting, would it?) The book is due December 15, and apart from a 5-day trip to Toronto for Bouchercon in October, I am focusing completely on the manuscript. All other commitments and engagements are being put aside until this one is winging its way to my editor.

Part of my strategy includes streamlining my social media. My personal FB page has been locked down and will no longer be accepting friend requests, answering messages, or posting. My author profile page is where all the action will be, so if you haven’t already followed me there, please do! That’s where you’ll find the latest updates on releases, contests, appearances, etc. My assistant and the fabulous team at Berkley will be posting there as well, and this blog will (fingers crossed!) automatically update to that page also. As ever, I’ll be tweeting away and I’m getting more active on Instagram, so if you need pictures of Deacon, you know where to go.

Love to take personality quizzes? Have you worked out your numerology or sorted yourself into a Hogwarts’ house or taken an online test to see which color best represents you? Then you will seriously dig Anne Bogel’s recent release READING PEOPLE. Anne–who is a seriously cool chick I have been lucky enough to meet in person–very kindly sent me a copy and I was intrigued. It would have been worth reading for the chapter on highly-sensitive people alone! And from reading her take on the Myers-Briggs assessment, I now understand why I’ve gotten about five different results. I also really appreciated the chapter on love languages and have put some of the suggested techniques into practice. If personality assessments are your thing, you definitely need to check this one out.

 

Posted in Blog | Comments Off on Scribbling and bibbling

It’s release day!

A PERILOUS UNDERTAKING is out in paperback–don’t miss Veronica and Stoker’s second precarious Victorian adventure!

Posted in Blog | Tagged , , , , | Comments Off on It’s release day!

Events this week! Don’t miss out–if you’re in the greaterĀ  NYC area, Sherry Thomas, Juliana Gray, and I are looking forward to meeting you!

 

Posted in Blog | Tagged , , , , | Comments Off on

Sometimes you need something soothing

For bedtime soothing, there’s nothing better than a straight slug of plain whiskey. (Although it’s usually bourbon in our house because that’s husband’s preference and I never buy the stuff.) But I am eating and drinking QUITE clean right now which means no alcohol for the foreseeable future, and what’s a girl to do when she needs something relaxing and comforting? A cup of tisane. If you’ve seen MY COUSIN RACHEL or read the book, you might be twitching by now, but it’s cool. I haven’t poisoned anyone yet…

For my blend, I mix equal parts dried mint, marjoram, sage, and lavender. If you have trouble finding mint–and I do–you can always take a plain peppermint teabag with nothing in it but the mint and use the innards. Make sure the herbs are all dried but NOT powdered or you’ll just make a nice green mush. Use a tea infuser to brew the dried herbs into a cup of just boiling water until it turns a soft golden-green–five to ten minutes depending on your taste. NEVER add sugar, although a drop of honey is not the worst thing you could do.

Carry this to your bed and sip slowly.

Posted in Blog | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Sometimes you need something soothing

Something tasty for the TBR pile!

Today is pub day for Ashley Weaver’s latest Amory Ames novel! I have so enjoyed this series beginning with MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL. The third is out today–THE ESSENCE OF MALICE–and there was a short story set in Capri that dropped this summer if you want to be fully caught up on all of Amory and Milo’s adventures. Fun, stylish Golden Age perfect for fans of Nick and Nora or Tommy and Tuppence.

It’s also pub day for my sister in Victorian crime, Sherry Thomas! Her latest Lady Sherlock novel, A CONSPIRACY IN BELGRAVIA comes hot on the heels of her fabulous series debut, A STUDY IN SCARLET WOMEN. (Sherry and I will be doing two events in the NYC area later this month with Juliana Gray/Beatriz Williams. Come see us!) Highly recommended for Sherlock fans.

Posted in Blog | Tagged , , , , , | Comments Off on Something tasty for the TBR pile!